The MCMC Experience

What Sets Us Apart

Minnesota Certified Health Care Home

1 of 8 Across Minnesota

MCMC began Health Care Home (HCH) implementation in 2014 with one nurse practitioner initially seeking HCH certification and quickly spread certification to the entire group of primary care providers. They take the health of their population seriously and embrace ways to partner with community resources to enhance health outcomes. An innovative approach to health improvement is their "Big Blue Bus" program that travels to outlying communities, providing health education and support for the remote populations. Visitors of the bus were recipients of blood pressure readings, blood glucose monitoring and diabetic foot assessments. Each month different health spotlights were offered such as diabetic education, heart healthy snacks, pulmonary assessments, reviewing of medications by a pharmacist and seasonal flu vaccinations.

Designated Minnesota Trauma Facility

Level IV Designation

Minnesota's trauma system is a network of hospitals and ambulance services organized and coordinated to optimize the care provided to seriously injured people by ensuring that injured people are cared for at a hospital with resources that are matched with the injured persons' needs. Hospitals voluntarily participate in the trauma system by attaining designation. Traumatic injury is the leading cause of death for people between the ages of one and 44, and the third leading cause of death overall, second only to cancer and heart disease. More years of potential life before age 65 are lost due to injury than due to any other cause. Deaths due to injury costs Minnesota over $2.5 billion dollars each year. For a severely injured person, the time between sustaining an injury and receiving definitive care is the most important predictor of survival—the “golden hour.” The chance of survival diminishes with time, despite of the availability of resources and modern technology; however, a trauma system enhances the chance of survival regardless of proximity to an urban trauma center. MCMC is designated as an official Level IV Trauma Facility.

Acute Stroke Ready Hospital

MDH designates facilities as Acute Stroke Ready Hospitals, Primary Stroke Centers, and Comprehensive Stroke Centers

A coordinated statewide system of care ensures all hospitals are equipped and ready to provide the best care possible for all Minnesotans. The Minnesota Stroke System was officially launched in April 2014. The Minnesota Department of Health partners with the American Heart Association, hospitals, EMS agencies, and many others to implement this coordinated system of care for Minnesota. MCMC is designated as an Acute Stroke Ready Hospital.

Partner of the Statewide Health Improvement Partnership (SHIP)

Improving Healthy Living in Murray County

Statewide Health Improvement Partnership (SHIP) investments support community-driven solutions to expand opportunities for active living, healthy eating and commercial tobacco-free living, helping all Minnesotans prevent chronic diseases including cancer, heart disease, stroke, and type 2 diabetes. Murray County Medical Center is a community partner leading SHIP activities throughout Murray County communities.


Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!